Return to Administrator's Guide

Individual Prefixes Overview

Individual Prefixes provides a way to indicate prefixes to the names of individual contacts (i.e., Dr., Reverend, etc.). There are a default set of Individual Prefixes pre-installed with CiviCRM: Mrs, Ms, Mr, and Dr. Use this function to modify or add new Individual Prefixes.

Setup Individual Prefixes

Begin at the Administer CiviCRM page. In the Setup section, choose Individual Prefixes.

You will see a list of existing prefix options (Standard options are Mrs., Ms., Mr. and Dr.). You can create a NEW prefix or Edit, Disable or Delete EXISTING prefixes using the links to the right of each prefix.

NEW

To enter a New Individual Prefix, click on the >>New Individual Prefix link at the bottom of the list of options.

Type in the Label, Description and Weight for each option. You can enable/disable the option by checking or unchecking the box labeled Enabled?

Click Save to save the option.

If successful, you will see the message:

The Individual Prefix "Pastor" has been saved.

EXISTING

For EXISTING prefixes you can Edit, Disable or Delete each option using the links to the right of each prefix.

EDIT

Selecting Edit will bring you to the Edit Individual Prefix Options page where you can change the Label, Description and Weight for each option. Here you can also enable/disable the option by checking or unchecking the box labeled Enabled?

Click Save to save the option.

If successful, you will see the message:

The Individual Prefix "Pastor" has been saved.

DISABLE

Select Disable to temporarily disable an existing Prefix. You will see the warning:

"Are you sure you want to disable this Individual Prefix? Users will not be able to select this value when adding or editing Individual Prefix"

Click OK to continue or Cancel to cancel disabling the prefix.

To re-enable the prefix, simply click on Enable.

DELETE

Select Delete to delete the prefix. You will be given this warning:

WARNING: Deleting this option will result in the loss of all Individual Prefix related records which use the option. This may mean the loss of a substantial amount of data, and the action cannot be undone. Do you want to continue?

Click Delete to continue or Cancel to cancel the deletion.